Melling Primary School

Meet the Governors

Governing Body Terms of Office and Attendance


Melling Primary School Governing Body




The Headteacher Ms Vivienne Ainsworth-Brown
One Staff Governor

Mrs Joanne Hargreaves

Four Parent Governors

Lesley-Ann Cantwell

Sue Whelan

Mrs Kate Hogan

Steve Duggan

Five Co-opted Governors

Mrs Lesley Bond

Mr Joe Flatman

Mr Brian Lawlor

Mrs Doreen Scott

Mr Andrew Kyle

One Local Authority Governor Mrs Beryl O'Brien


Governing Body Committees


Melling Governing Body follows the Circle Model of Governance so meets as a full governing body every half term and is chaired by Kate Hogan. Other committees/panels, as listed below meet during the year:


Finance Committee meets termly  
Headteacher Performance Management meets in the Autumn Term 
Pay Committee meets in the Autumn Term 
The Finance Panel meets termly 
The Attendance Panel meets termly


There is a number of ad hoc committees which meet only if needed.  Details are available from the Clerk to the Governing Body.

Roles of our Governors


Chair of the Governing Body Mrs Kate Hogan
Vice-Chair of the Governing Body Mr Joe Flatman
Clerk to the Governing Body Mrs Susan Hart

Inclusion and Equality Governor (including SEND & Pupil Premium)

Mrs Kate Hogan & Mr Joe Flatman
Safeguarding and Child Protection Governor Mrs Kate Hogan
Curriculum Governors Mr Brian Lawlor, Mrs Doreen Scott, Mrs Sue Whelan, Mrs Kate Hogan
Budget and Finance Governors  Mr Steve Duggan, Mr Brian Lawlor
Staffing Governors Mrs Beryl O'Brien, Mrs Kate Hogan, Mr Joe Flatman, Mr Andrew Kyle
Appraisal and Performance Management Mrs Kate Hogan, Mr Andrew Kyle, Mrs Beryl O'Brien
Mental Health and Well Being (staff and children) Mrs Kate Hogan
EYFS Link Governor Mrs Sue Whelan
Health and Safety Governors Mrs Lesley Bond, Mr Andrew Kyle 
Discipline and Exclusions  Mrs Kate Hogan, Mr Joe Flatman, Mrs Lesley Bond 
Admissions  Ms Viv Ainsworth-Brown
Mental Health and Well Being  Mrs Lesley Bond & Mrs Jo Hargreaves 
Early Years Governor  Mrs Sue Whelan
Training & Development Governor Mrs Kate Hogan 


The Clerk to the Governing Body is Mrs Susan Hart. Contact details are:


telephone 0151 547 3349
address for correspondence

Mrs Susan Hart

Clerk to the Governing Body

Melling Primary School

Wheeler Drive



L31 1DA

At the Annual General Meeting of the Governing Body held on Tuesday 24th September 2019  there were:

no declarations of business interests made

no declarations of financial interests made

no declarations of material interests with regards to governors being related to other governors or members of staff

no declarations of governance roles in other schools made.